Lancaster Lane CP provides a broad and balanced curriculum for all of its pupils. All of our work is based on the EYFS and the National Curriculum and is carefully planned to ensure there is continuity and progression for the children as they move through the school.


When they first start school, children are in the Early Years Foundation Stage (the Reception Class). The Early Years Curriculum is made up of three PRIME AREAS - communication and language, physical development and personal, social and emotional development. These areas feed into 4 SPECIFIC AREAS - literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts & design. The learning is planned to suit the child's unique needs.


Children in Year 1 and Year 2 (infants) are working in Key Stage 1. Children in Years 3 - 6 (juniors) are working in Key Stage 2. In both of these Key Stages, children are taught all of the subjects within the National Curriculum. Where we can, links in learning (cross curricular links) are made between the subjects under broad topic headings. In addition to this, the school follows the Lancashire Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education. Each class page has an overview of the curriculum for the year.


In accordance with the 1988 Education Act, Lancaster Lane provides a daily act of worship. This may be within class or in more formal assemblies.


If you would like any further information about the curriculum we follow, please speak to your child's class teacher. 

Click on the links below to find out more about each subject:


Curriculum Statement


Art & Design


Collective Worship and Assembly Times


Design Technology

Drugs Education


Early Years 

Emotional Health and Well Being 









ICT & Computing













Sex & Relationship Education